Our Experts

Raul Cabrera

Extension Specialist in Nursery Production and Management
Speciality areas: Nursery production, nutrient management, water management

   Department of Plant Biology & Pathology, Rutgers University
   Rutgers Agricultural Research and Extension Center
   121 Northville Rd.
   Bridgeton, NJ 08302
   856-455-3100 ext. 4162
   cabrera@aesop.rutgers.edu

Nicholas Polanin

County Agent
Specialty areas: Urban and community forestry, shade tree management, diagnostics, pruning, christmas tree production, business and marketing plans

   Cooperative Extension of Somerset County
   310 Milltown Rd.
   Bridgewater, NJ 08807
   908-526-6293
   polanin@njaes.rutgers.edu

Hemant Gohil

County Agent
Speciality areas: Labor management, nursery mechanization, and automation

   Rutgers Cooperative Extension of Gloucester County
   1200 N. Delsea Dr.
   Clayton, NJ 08312-1095
   856-307-6480
   gohil@njaes.rutgers.edu

Christopher Obropta

Extension Specialist in Water Resources
Specialty areas: Water resources, runoff mitigation

   Water Resources Program
   G.H. Cook Campus
   14 College Farm Road
   New Brunswick, NJ 08901
   732-932-9800 x 6209
   obropta@envsci.rutgers.edu

Salvatore Mangiafico

County Agent
Specialty areas: Water pollution prevention, water conservation

   Rutgers Cooperative Extension of Cumberland County
   291 Morton Ave.
   Millville, NJ 08332
   856-451-2800
   mangiafico@njaes.rutgers.edu

Jim Lashomb

Extension Specialist in Entomology
Speciality areas: Arthopod pest control

   Department of Entomology
   93 Lipman Drive
   New Brunswick, NJ 08332
   732-932-9459
   lashomb@rci.rutgers.edu

Thierry Besancon

Extension Specialist in Weed Science
Specialty areas: Weed control for ornamental and specialty crops

   Department of Plant Biology
   Philip E. Marucci Center for Blueberry and Cranberry Research and Extension
   125A Lake Oswego Rd.
   Chatsworth, NJ 08019
   609-726-1590, ext. 4442
   thierry.besancon@rutgers.edu

Steven Rettke

Program Associate
Specialty areas: Integrated pest management, arthropod monitoring

   Plant Diagnostic Laboratory
   Ralph Geiger Turfgrass Education Center
   20 Indyk-Engel Way
   North Brunswick, NJ 08902
   732-861-8105
   rettke@njaes.rutgers.edu

Jason Grabosky

Professor in Urban Forestry
Specialty areas: Urban ornamental landscaping

   Department of Ecology, Evolution, and Natural Resources
   80 Nichol Ave., Rm. 102
   New Brunswick, NJ 08901
   848-932-0050
   grabosky@njaes.rutgers.edu

Rutgers Soil Testing Laboratory

   http://njaes.rutgers.edu/soiltestinglab/

Nursery Integrated Pest Management

   http://pestmanagement.rutgers.edu/IPM/nursery/

Greenhouse/Floriculture Integrated Pest Management

   http://pestmanagement.rutgers.edu/IPM/Greenhouse/




  1. Rutgers
  2. Executive Dean of Agriculture and Natural Resources
  3. School of Environmental and Biological Sciences