Extension Specialists Personnel

View by:  Name | Office

Dept. of Agricultural, Food and Resource Economics

Photo of Robin Brumfield.

Brumfield, Robin G.

Extension Specialist in Farm Management

Phone: 848-932-9130

Email: brumfield@njaes.rutgers.edu

Website: http://aesop.rutgers.edu/~farmmgmt

Expertise: Greenhouse Economics; Management for Farm Business Sustainability; Whole Farm System Analyses (Computer)

Photo of Paul Gottlieb.

Gottlieb, Paul

Associate Professor in Land Use Policy

Phone: 848-932-9122

Email: gottlieb@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Public Policies Agriculture, Food, and Environment

Photo of Ramu Govindasamy.

Govindasamy, Ramu

Professor in Marketing

Phone: 848-932-9192

Email: govindasamy@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Value-Added Marketing of New Jersey Agricultural Commodities

Photo of Barbara O'Neill.

O'Neill, Barbara M.

Extension Specialist in Financial Resource Management

Phone: 848-932-9126

Email: oneill@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Financial Resources Management

Photo of Brian Schilling.

Schilling, Brian

Assoc. Extension Specialist in Agricultural Policy

Phone: 848-932-9127

Email: schilling@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: NJ Agricultural Policy; Land Use Policy

Photo of Edmund Tavernier.

Tavernier, Edmund M.

Professor

Phone: 848-932-9132

Email: tavernier@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Agricultural Policy; Land Use Issues

Dept. of Animal Sciences

Photo of Julie Fagan.

Fagan, Julie M.

Assoc. Research Professor in Companion Animal Science

Phone: 848-932-8354

Email: fagan@rci.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Companion Animal Science

Photo of Larry Katz.

Katz, Larry S.

Professor in Wildlife Management/Animal Welfare

Phone: 848-932-3591

Email: katz@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Animal Sciences; Animal Welfare; Wildlife Damage

Photo of Sarah Ralston.

Ralston, Sarah L.

Professor in Equine Nutrition Science

Phone: 848-932-9404

Email: ralston@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Animal Sciences; Equine Nutrition

Photo of Michael Westendorf.

Westendorf, Michael L.

Extension Specialist in Livestock and Dairy

Phone: 848-932-9408

Email: westendorf@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Dairy Science; Nutritional Management of Livestock

Photo of Carey Williams.

Williams, Carey A.

Assoc. Extension Specialist in Equine Management

Phone: 848-932-5529

Email: cwilliams@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Equine Management

Dept. of Ecology, Evolution and Natural Resources

Photo of Jason Grabosky.

Grabosky, Jason

Professor in Urban Forestry

Phone: 848-932-0050

Email: grabosky@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Urban Forestry, Tree Growth

Photo of Brooke Maslo.

Maslo, Brooke

Asst. Extension Specialist in Wildlife Biology

Phone: 848-932-5572

Email: brooke.maslo@rutgers.edu

Expertise: Wildlife Management, particularly Wildlife Biology

Dept. of Entomology

Photo of Dina Fonseca.

Fonseca, Dina

Professor in Entomology

Phone: 732-932-3146

Email: dinafons@rci.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Mosquito Biology and Control

Photo of Randy Gaugler.

Gaugler, Randy R.

Professor

Phone: 732-932-9341

Email: gaugler@rci.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Biological Control; Vector Ecology

Photo of George Hamilton.

Hamilton, George C.

Extension Specialist in Pest Management

Phone: 848-932-9801

Email: hamilton@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Farm Safety; Invasive Species; IPM; Pesticide Safety and Training

Photo of Albrecht Koppenhofer.

Koppenhofer, Albrecht

Extension Specialist in Turfgrass Insect Pest Management

Phone: 848-932-9324

Email: koppenhofer@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Insect Pest Management in Turfgrass

Photo of Anne Nielsen.

Nielsen, Anne

Asst. Extension Specialist in Fruit Entomology

Phone: 856-455-3100, ext. 4110

Email: nielsen@njaes.rutgers.edu

Photo of Cesar Rodriguez-Saona.

Rodriguez-Saona, Cesar

Extension Specialist in Blueberry/Cranberry Entomology

Phone: 609-726-1590, ext. 4412

Email: crodriguez@njaes.rutgers.edu

Photo of Changlu Wang.

Wang, Changlu

Assoc. Extension Specialist in Urban Entomology

Phone: 848-932-9552

Email: cwang@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Urban Pest Management

Dept. of Environmental Sciences

Photo of Arend-Jan Both.

Both, Arend-Jan

Assoc. Extension Specialist in Controlled-Environment Engineering

Phone: 848-932-5730

Email: both@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Controlled-environment Agriculture; Greenhouse Design; Energy Management

Photo of Lisa Evrard.

Evrard, Lisa Galloway

Water Quality Senior Program Coordinator

Phone: 848-932-6726

Email: evrard@rci.rutgers.edu

Photo of Uta Krogmann.

Krogmann, Uta

Assoc. Extension Specialist in Solid Waste Management

Phone: 848-932-5729

Email: krogmann@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Organic Waste Management; Composting

Photo of Christopher Obropta.

Obropta, Christopher C.

Assoc. Extension Specialist in Water Resources

Phone: 848-932-5711

Email: obropta@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Water Quality; Water Resources; Watershed Management

Dept. of Food Science

Photo of Donald Schaffner.

Schaffner, Donald W.

Extension Specialist in Food Science

Phone: 732-982-7475

Email: schaffner@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Food Safety; Quantitative Risk Assessment

Dept. of Landscape Architecture

Photo of Richard Alomar.

Alomar, Richard

Asst. Professor in Landscape Architecture

Phone: 848-932-5266

Email: richard.alomar@rutgers.edu

Expertise: Landscape Architecture

Photo of Tobiah Horton.

Horton, Tobiah

Assistant Professor in Landscape Architecture

Phone: 848-932-9344

Email: tobiah.horton@rutgers.edu

Expertise: Landscape Architecture

Dept. of Marine and Coastal Sciences

Photo of Olaf Jensen.

Jensen, Olaf

Assoc. Professor in Fisheries Science & Aquatic Ecology

Phone: 848-932-3473

Email: ojensen@marine.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Fisheries Science & Aquatic Ecology

Dept. of Nutritional Sciences

Photo of Carol Byrd-Bredbenner.

Byrd-Bredbenner, Carol

Extension Specialist in Nutrition

Phone: 732-932-2382

Email: bredbenner@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Nutrition Education

Photo of Nurgul Fitzgerald.

Fitzgerald, Nurgul

Assoc. Extension Specialist in Health Promotion and Behavior

Phone: 732-932-3835

Email: nfitzgerald@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Food, Nutrition, and Safety

Photo of Daniel Hoffman.

Hoffman, Daniel J.

Associate Professor in Community Nutrition

Phone: 848-932-5476

Email: dhoffman@njaes.rutgers.edu

Photo of Debrah Palmer.

Palmer, Debrah

Assoc. Extension Specialist in Community Nutrition

Phone: 732-932-9853

Email: dpalmer@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Community Nutrition Programming; New Jersey State EFNEP and FSNEP Programs

Dept. of Plant Biology

Besancon, Thierry

Asst. Extension Specialist in Weed Science

Phone: 609-726-1590, ext. 4442

Email: thierry.besancon@rutgers.edu

Photo of Stacy Bonos.

Bonos, Stacy

Assoc. Professor

Phone: 848-932-6367

Email: bonos@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Breeding and Development of Perennial Grasses; Bio-energy Crops

Photo of Bruce Clarke.

Clarke, Bruce B.

Extension Specialist in Turfgrass Pathology

Phone: 848-932-6295

Email: clarke@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Diagnosis and Control of Turfgrass Diseases

Elmore, Matthew

Asst. Extension Specialist in Weed Science

Phone: 848-932-6324

Email: matthew.elmore@rutgers.edu

Expertise: Weed science in Turf and Forage Grasses

Photo of Ann Gould.

Gould, Ann

Assoc. Extension Specialist in Ornamental Pathology

Phone: 848-932-6398

Email: gould@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Diseases of shade trees and nursery ornamentals, Scorch

Photo of Joseph Heckman.

Heckman, Joseph R.

Extension Specialist in Soil Fertility

Phone: 848-932-6333

Email: heckman@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Field and Forage Crop, Vegetable, Turf, and Tree Fruit Plant Nutrition; Soil Fertility Management

Photo of Norman Lalancette.

Lalancette, Norman

Assoc. Extension Specialist in Tree Fruit Pathology

Phone: 732-932-4000, ext. 4124

Email: lalancette@njaes.rutgers.edu

Photo of James Murphy.

Murphy, James

Extension Specialist in Turf Management

Phone: 848-932-6326

Email: murphy@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Turfgrass Management

Photo of Thomas Orton.

Orton, Thomas

Extension Specialist in Vegetables

Phone: 732-932-4000, ext. 4112

Email: orton@njaes.rutgers.edu

Photo of Peter Oudemans.

Oudemans, Peter

Professor, Blueberry and Cranberry Pathology

Phone: 609-726-1590, ext. 4420

Email: oudemans@njaes.rutgers.edu

Photo of Mark Robson.

Robson, Mark

Professor in Entomology

Phone: 848-932-6276

Email: robson@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Environmental Health; Pesticide Safety

Photo of James Simon.

Simon, James

Professor in New-Use Agriculture

Phone: 848-932-6239

Email: jesimon@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Herbs and Medicinal Plants; New-Use Agriculture

Photo of Nicholi Vorsa.

Vorsa, Nicholi

Research Professor in Blueberries/Cranberries

Phone: 609-726-1590, ext. 11

Email: vorsa@njaes.rutgers.edu

Photo of Daniel Ward.

Ward, Daniel

Asst. Extension Specialist in Pomology

Phone: 732-932-4000, ext. 4118

Email: dward@njaes.rutgers.edu

Photo of Andrew Wyenandt.

Wyenandt, Andrew

Assoc. Extension Specialist in Vegetable Pathology

Phone: 732-932-4000, ext. 4144

Email: wyenandt@njaes.rutgers.edu

Equine Science Center

Photo of Karyn Malinowski.

Malinowski, Karyn

Extension Specialist in Equine Science

Phone: 848-932-4220

Email: malinowski@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Equine Science

Philip E. Marucci Center for Blueberry and Cranberry Research and Extension

Besancon, Thierry

Asst. Extension Specialist in Weed Science

Phone: 609-726-1590, ext. 4442

Email: thierry.besancon@rutgers.edu

Expertise: Weed Science on Specialty Crops

Photo of Peter Oudemans.

Oudemans, Peter

Professor in Blueberry and Cranberry Pathology

Phone: 609-726-1590, ext. 4420

Email: oudemans@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Disease Management in Blueberries and Cranberries

Photo of Cesar Rodriguez-Saona.

Rodriguez-Saona, Cesar

Extension Specialist in Blueberry/Cranberry Entomology

Phone: 609-726-1590, ext. 4412

Email: crodriguez@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Blueberry/Cranberry Entomology

Photo of Nicholi Vorsa.

Vorsa, Nicholi

Research Professor in Blueberries/Cranberries

Phone: 609-726-1590, ext. 11

Email: vorsa@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Cranberry and Blueberry Breeding and Management

Rutgers Agricultural Research and Extension Center

Photo of Norman Lalancette.

Lalancette, Norman

Assoc. Extension Specialist in Tree Fruit Pathology

Phone: 732-932-4000, ext. 4124

Email: lalancette@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Commercial Tree Fruit IPM; Tree Fruit Pathology

Photo of Anne Nielsen.

Nielsen, Anne

Asst. Extension Specialist in Fruit Entomology

Phone: 856-455-3100, ext. 4110

Email: nielsen@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Fruit Entomology

Photo of Thomas Orton.

Orton, Thomas

Extension Specialist in Vegetables

Phone: 732-932-4000, ext. 4112

Email: orton@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: New Crops; Vegetable Breeding and Genetics

Photo of Daniel Ward.

Ward, Daniel

Asst. Extension Specialist in Pomology

Phone: 732-932-4000, ext. 4118

Email: dward@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Small Fruit Management; Tree Fruit Management

Photo of Andrew Wyenandt.

Wyenandt, Andrew

Assoc. Extension Specialist in Vegetable Pathology

Phone: 732-932-4000, ext. 4144

Email: wyenandt@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Vegetable Pathology

University of Delaware

Photo of Mark Vangessel.

Vangessel, Mark

Extension Specialist in Field and Forage Crop Weed Science

Phone: 302-856-7303

Email: mjv@udel.edu

Expertise: Weed Management in Fields and Forage Crops


  1. Rutgers
  2. Executive Dean of Agriculture and Natural Resources
  3. School of Environmental and Biological Sciences