Extension Specialists Personnel

View by:  Name | Office

Photo of Richard Alomar.

Alomar, Richard

Asst. Professor in Landscape Architecture

Dept. of Landscape Architecture

Phone: 848-932-5266

Email: richard.alomar@rutgers.edu

Expertise: Landscape Architecture

Besancon, Thierry

Asst. Extension Specialist in Weed Science

Dept. of Plant Biology

Asst. Extension Specialist in Weed Science

Philip E. Marucci Center for Blueberry and Cranberry Research and Extension

Phone: 609-726-1590, ext. 4442

Email: thierry.besancon@rutgers.edu

Expertise: Weed Science on Specialty Crops

Photo of Stacy Bonos.

Bonos, Stacy

Assoc. Professor

Dept. of Plant Biology

Phone: 848-932-6367

Email: bonos@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Breeding and Development of Perennial Grasses; Bio-energy Crops

Photo of Arend-Jan Both.

Both, Arend-Jan

Assoc. Extension Specialist in Controlled-Environment Engineering

Dept. of Environmental Sciences

Phone: 848-932-5730

Email: both@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Controlled-environment Agriculture; Greenhouse Design; Energy Management

Photo of Robin Brumfield.

Brumfield, Robin G.

Extension Specialist in Farm Management

Dept. of Agricultural, Food, and Resource Economics

Phone: 848-932-9130

Email: brumfield@njaes.rutgers.edu

Website: http://aesop.rutgers.edu/~farmmgmt

Expertise: Greenhouse Economics; Management for Farm Business Sustainability; Whole Farm System Analyses (Computer)

Photo of Carol Byrd-Bredbenner.

Byrd-Bredbenner, Carol

Extension Specialist in Nutrition

Dept. of Nutritional Sciences

Phone: 732-932-2382

Email: bredbenner@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Nutrition Education

Photo of Raul Cabrera.

Cabrera, Raul I.

Assoc. Extension Specialist in Nursery Production and Management

Rutgers Agricultural Research and Extension Center

Phone: 856-455-3100, ext. 4162

Email: cabrera@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Water & Nutrient Management in Ornamental Nursery/Greenhouse Crops, Landscape Horticulture

Photo of Bruce Clarke.

Clarke, Bruce B.

Extension Specialist in Turfgrass Pathology

Dept. of Plant Biology

Phone: 848-932-6295

Email: clarke@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Diagnosis and Control of Turfgrass Diseases

Elmore, Matthew

Asst. Extension Specialist in Weed Science

Dept. of Plant Biology

Phone: 848-932-6324

Email: matthew.elmore@rutgers.edu

Expertise: Weed science in Turf and Forage Grasses

Photo of Lisa Evrard.

Evrard, Lisa Galloway

Water Quality Senior Program Coordinator

Dept. of Environmental Sciences

Phone: 848-932-6726

Email: evrard@rci.rutgers.edu

Photo of Julie Fagan.

Fagan, Julie M.

Assoc. Research Professor in Companion Animal Science

Dept. of Animal Sciences

Phone: 848-932-8354

Email: fagan@rci.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Companion Animal Science

Photo of Nurgul Fitzgerald.

Fitzgerald, Nurgul

Assoc. Extension Specialist in Health Promotion and Behavior

Dept. of Nutritional Sciences

Phone: 732-932-3835

Email: nfitzgerald@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Food, Nutrition, and Safety

Photo of Dina Fonseca.

Fonseca, Dina

Professor in Entomology

Dept. of Entomology

Phone: 732-932-3146

Email: dinafons@rci.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Mosquito Biology and Control

Photo of Randy Gaugler.

Gaugler, Randy R.

Professor

Dept. of Entomology

Phone: 732-932-9341

Email: gaugler@rci.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Biological Control; Vector Ecology

Photo of Paul Gottlieb.

Gottlieb, Paul

Associate Professor in Land Use Policy

Dept. of Agricultural, Food, and Resource Economics

Phone: 848-932-9122

Email: gottlieb@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Public Policies Agriculture, Food, and Environment

Photo of Ann Gould.

Gould, Ann

Assoc. Extension Specialist in Ornamental Pathology

Dept. of Plant Biology

Phone: 848-932-6398

Email: gould@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Diseases of shade trees and nursery ornamentals, Scorch

Photo of Ramu Govindasamy.

Govindasamy, Ramu

Professor in Marketing

Dept. of Agricultural, Food, and Resource Economics

Phone: 848-932-9192

Email: govindasamy@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Value-Added Marketing of New Jersey Agricultural Commodities

Photo of Jason Grabosky.

Grabosky, Jason

Professor in Urban Forestry

Dept. of Ecology, Evolution, and Natural Resources

Phone: 848-932-0050

Email: grabosky@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Urban Forestry, Tree Growth

Photo of George Hamilton.

Hamilton, George C.

Extension Specialist in Pest Management

Dept. of Entomology

Phone: 848-932-9801

Email: hamilton@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Farm Safety; Invasive Species; IPM; Pesticide Safety and Training

Photo of Joseph Heckman.

Heckman, Joseph R.

Extension Specialist in Soil Fertility

Dept. of Plant Biology

Phone: 848-932-6333

Email: heckman@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Field and Forage Crop, Vegetable, Turf, and Tree Fruit Plant Nutrition; Soil Fertility Management

Photo of Tobiah Horton.

Horton, Tobiah

Assistant Professor in Landscape Architecture

Dept. of Landscape Architecture

Phone: 848-932-9344

Email: tobiah.horton@rutgers.edu

Expertise: Landscape Architecture

Photo of Olaf Jensen.

Jensen, Olaf

Assoc. Professor in Fisheries Science & Aquatic Ecology

Dept. of Marine and Coastal Sciences

Phone: 848-932-3473

Email: ojensen@marine.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Fisheries Science & Aquatic Ecology

Photo of Larry Katz.

Katz, Larry S.

Professor in Wildlife Management/Animal Welfare

Dept. of Animal Sciences

Phone: 848-932-3591

Email: lskatz@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Animal Sciences; Animal Welfare; Wildlife Damage

Photo of Albrecht Koppenhofer.

Koppenhofer, Albrecht

Extension Specialist in Turfgrass Insect Pest Management

Dept. of Entomology

Phone: 848-932-9324

Email: koppenhofer@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Insect Pest Management in Turfgrass

Photo of Uta Krogmann.

Krogmann, Uta

Assoc. Extension Specialist in Solid Waste Management

Dept. of Environmental Sciences

Phone: 848-932-5729

Email: krogmann@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Organic Waste Management; Composting

Photo of Norman Lalancette.

Lalancette, Norman

Assoc. Extension Specialist in Tree Fruit Pathology

Dept. of Plant Biology

Assoc. Extension Specialist in Tree Fruit Pathology

Rutgers Agricultural Research and Extension Center

Phone: 732-932-4000, ext. 4124

Email: lalancette@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Commercial Tree Fruit IPM; Tree Fruit Pathology

Photo of Karyn Malinowski.

Malinowski, Karyn

Extension Specialist in Equine Science

Equine Science Center

Phone: 848-932-4220

Email: malinowski@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Equine Science

Photo of Brooke Maslo.

Maslo, Brooke

Asst. Extension Specialist in Wildlife Biology

Dept. of Ecology, Evolution, and Natural Resources

Phone: 848-932-5572

Email: brooke.maslo@rutgers.edu

Expertise: Wildlife Management, particularly Wildlife Biology

Photo of James Murphy.

Murphy, James

Extension Specialist in Turf Management

Dept. of Plant Biology

Phone: 848-932-6326

Email: murphy@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Turfgrass Management

Photo of Anne Nielsen.

Nielsen, Anne

Asst. Extension Specialist in Fruit Entomology

Dept. of Entomology

Asst. Extension Specialist in Fruit Entomology

Rutgers Agricultural Research and Extension Center

Phone: 856-455-3100, ext. 4110

Email: nielsen@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Fruit Entomology

Photo of Christopher Obropta.

Obropta, Christopher C.

Assoc. Extension Specialist in Water Resources

Dept. of Environmental Sciences

Phone: 848-932-5711

Email: obropta@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Water Quality; Water Resources; Watershed Management

Photo of Barbara O'Neill.

O'Neill, Barbara M.

Extension Specialist in Financial Resource Management

Dept. of Agricultural, Food, and Resource Economics

Phone: 848-932-9126

Email: oneill@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Financial Resources Management

Photo of Thomas Orton.

Orton, Thomas

Extension Specialist in Vegetables

Dept. of Plant Biology

Extension Specialist in Vegetables

Rutgers Agricultural Research and Extension Center

Phone: 732-932-4000, ext. 4112

Email: orton@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: New Crops; Vegetable Breeding and Genetics

Photo of Peter Oudemans.

Oudemans, Peter

Professor, Blueberry and Cranberry Pathology

Dept. of Plant Biology

Professor in Blueberry and Cranberry Pathology

Philip E. Marucci Center for Blueberry and Cranberry Research and Extension

Phone: 609-726-1590, ext. 4420

Email: oudemans@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Disease Management in Blueberries and Cranberries

Photo of Debra Palmer-Keenan.

Palmer-Keenan, Debra

Assoc. Extension Specialist in Community Nutrition

Dept. of Nutritional Sciences

Phone: 732-932-9853

Email: dkeenan@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Community Nutrition Programming; New Jersey State EFNEP and FSNEP Programs

Photo of Mark Robson.

Robson, Mark

Professor in Entomology

Dept. of Plant Biology

Phone: 848-932-6276

Email: robson@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Environmental Health; Pesticide Safety

Photo of Cesar Rodriguez-Saona.

Rodriguez-Saona, Cesar

Extension Specialist in Blueberry/Cranberry Entomology

Dept. of Entomology

Extension Specialist in Blueberry/Cranberry Entomology

Philip E. Marucci Center for Blueberry and Cranberry Research and Extension

Phone: 609-726-1590, ext. 4412

Email: crodriguez@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Blueberry/Cranberry Entomology

Photo of Donald Schaffner.

Schaffner, Donald W.

Extension Specialist in Food Science

Dept. of Food Science

Phone: 732-982-7475

Email: schaffner@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Food Safety; Quantitative Risk Assessment

Photo of Brian Schilling.

Schilling, Brian

Assoc. Extension Specialist in Agricultural Policy

Dept. of Agricultural, Food, and Resource Economics

Phone: 848-932-9127

Email: schilling@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: NJ Agricultural Policy; Land Use Policy

Photo of James Simon.

Simon, James

Professor in New-Use Agriculture

Dept. of Plant Biology

Phone: 848-932-6239

Email: jesimon@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Herbs and Medicinal Plants; New-Use Agriculture

Photo of Edmund Tavernier.

Tavernier, Edmund M.

Professor

Dept. of Agricultural, Food, and Resource Economics

Phone: 848-932-9132

Email: tavernier@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Agricultural Policy; Land Use Issues

Photo of Mark Vangessel.

Vangessel, Mark

Extension Specialist in Field and Forage Crop Weed Science

University of Delaware

Phone: 302-856-7303

Email: mjv@udel.edu

Expertise: Weed Management in Fields and Forage Crops

Photo of Nicholi Vorsa.

Vorsa, Nicholi

Research Professor in Blueberries/Cranberries

Dept. of Plant Biology

Research Professor in Blueberries/Cranberries

Philip E. Marucci Center for Blueberry and Cranberry Research and Extension

Phone: 609-726-1590, ext. 11

Email: vorsa@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Cranberry and Blueberry Breeding and Management

Photo of Changlu Wang.

Wang, Changlu

Assoc. Extension Specialist in Urban Entomology

Dept. of Entomology

Phone: 848-932-9552

Email: cwang@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Urban Pest Management

Photo of Daniel Ward.

Ward, Daniel

Asst. Extension Specialist in Pomology

Dept. of Plant Biology

Asst. Extension Specialist in Pomology

Rutgers Agricultural Research and Extension Center

Phone: 732-932-4000, ext. 4118

Email: dward@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Small Fruit Management; Tree Fruit Management

Photo of Michael Westendorf.

Westendorf, Michael L.

Extension Specialist in Livestock and Dairy

Dept. of Animal Sciences

Phone: 848-932-9408

Email: westendorf@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Dairy Science; Nutritional Management of Livestock

Photo of Carey Williams.

Williams, Carey A.

Assoc. Extension Specialist in Equine Management

Dept. of Animal Sciences

Phone: 848-932-5529

Email: cwilliams@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Equine Management

Photo of Andrew Wyenandt.

Wyenandt, Andrew

Assoc. Extension Specialist in Vegetable Pathology

Dept. of Plant Biology

Assoc. Extension Specialist in Vegetable Pathology

Rutgers Agricultural Research and Extension Center

Phone: 732-932-4000, ext. 4144

Email: wyenandt@njaes.rutgers.edu

Expertise: Vegetable Pathology


  1. Rutgers
  2. Executive Dean of Agriculture and Natural Resources
  3. School of Environmental and Biological Sciences